You are here: Office-Outlook.com  / Outlook Forum

Symantec WinFax Pro

Home » General Outlook opportunities » Outlook Public
Symantec WinFax Pro [message #156298] Mon, 09 April 2007 11:46 Go to next message
n.stephens.2005
Messages: 1
Registered: April 2007
Junior Member
a client of mine has Symantec AV installed. and when she trys to get
to the company website it comes up with with this Symantec WinFax Pro
error. We have nothing installed that has to do with winfax including
no printers, services, faxes, or registry entries. But yet anytime we
go to launch the website it gives this error then freezes and the only
option is to restart. Any suggestions?
Re: Symantec WinFax Pro [message #156559] Tue, 10 April 2007 05:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Brian Tillman
Messages: 25117
Registered: June 2006
Senior Member
Patrick Keenan <test@dev.null> wrote:

> If you're actually seeing this in reference to Outlook - I have seen
> this, but the problem had nothing at all to do with WinFax, which had
> never been installed on that machine. The real problem was that the
> user's PST file was much too large and was corrupting the Outlook
> Profile, causing Outlook to crash in strange ways and present
> erroneous error messages.

However, with Outlook 2007, a PST that is too large shouldn't be a problem.
Nonetheless, there have been reports of issues in Outlook 2007 causing
WInFax error messages to appear when WinFax isn't installed.
--
Brian Tillman
Previous Topic:Outlook 2007 file not closed properly
Next Topic:New History Item, Mail Message sends all messages as Rich Text Format
Goto Forum: